top of page
Search
  • donsarto

NF

Music Video 






(Hey Nate, how's life? He is imitating a conversation.)

I don't know it's alright

I've been dealin' with some things like every human being

And really didn't sleep much last night

I'm sorry

That's fine

I just think I need a little me time

I just think I need a little free time

Little break from the shows and the bus rides

Last year I had a breakdown

(Thoughts tellin me I'm lost gettin too loud Self hating thoughts.)

Had to see a therapist then I found out

(Somethin' funny's going on up in my house House means brain)

Yeah started thinkin' maybe I should move out

(You know pack my cart take a new route I believe that new route is not very literal and implies he is going to take a new path in life and is a metaphor.)

Clean up my yard get the noose out

Hang up my heart let it air out

I've been searchin'

What does that mean, Nate? I've been learnin'

(Grabbin' my keepsakes Again, I think this is not to be taken literally I think it implies he is going to attempt to change himself and “keepsakes” refer to the positive qualities he possesses.)

Leavin' my burdens

(Well I brought a few with me I'm not perfect He is attempting to forget his demons but he can’t completely.)

(Lookin' at the view like this concerns me I think the “view” could refer to how he is trying to change and the progress he has made could be considered concerning.

Pickin' up the cues right? I'm quite nervous

Hate it when I lose sight life gets blurry

And things might hurt me

It's prolly gonna be a long journey but hey!

It's worth it though

Cold world out there kids grab your coats

Been a minute I know now I'm back to roam

Looking for the antidote

To crack the code

Pretty vivid I admit it I'm in classic mode

Don't need pity given to me, but I can't condone

Talkin' down to me I'mma have to crack your nose

For crackin' jokes

I'm lookin' for the map to hope

You seen it?

Been makin a whole lot of changes

Wrote a song about that you should play it

I get scared when I walk on these stages

I look at the crowd and see so many faces

Yeah

That's when I start to get anxious

That's when my thoughts can be dangerous

That's when I put on my makeup

And drown in self-hatred forget what I'm sayin an ...

Where the beat go?

Ohh

Ain't that somethin'

Drums came in you ain't see that comin'

Hands on my head can't tell me nothin'

(Gotta taste of the fame had to pump my stomach The fame was getting to much for him and he felt it was to much)

(Throw it back up like I don't want it He is saying he doesn’t want his fame)

Wipe my face clean off my vomit

OCD tryna push my buttons

I said don't touch it

(Now y'all done it If something isn’t a certain way sometimes someone with OCD can experience great anxiety)

I can be critical

Never typical

Intricate with every syllable

I'm a criminal

Intimate but never political

(Pretty visual I think here he is saying how he paints a pictures with his songs which I think he does)

(Even if you hate it I make you feel like you're in it though He is saying that even if you don’t like his song he still provides an immersive experience nonetheless) 

(You call me what you wanna but never call me forgettable No matter if you like his songs or not they are memorable)

Leave you deep in thought I could never swim in the kiddy pool

Way that I be thinkin' is cinematic it's beautiful

(Man I don't know if I'm makin' movies or music videos (Videos) He makes very memorable and very artistic music videos)

(The sales can rise

Doesn't mean much though when your health declines He is saying that the money doesn’t mean anything if his health isn’t in  good shape)

(See we've all got somethin' that we've trapped inside

That we try to suffocate you know hoping it dies

Try to hold it under water

But it always survives

Then it comes up out of nowhere like an evil surprise

Then it hovers over you to tell you millions of lies

You don't relate to that, must not be as crazy I am He is referring to anxiety I think because no matter how hard you try I don’t think you can get rid of it completely) 

The point I'm makin is the mind is a powerful place

And what you feed it can affect you in a powerful way

It's pretty cool right? Yeah, but it's not always safe

Just hang with me this will only take a moment okay

Just think about it for a second if you look at your face

Every day when you get up and think you'll never be great

You'll never be great

Not because you're not but the hate

Will always find a way to cut you up and murder your faith

(Whoo)

I been developin'

Take a look at the benefits

Nothin to meddle with

I could never be delicate

Am I even relevant

That depends how you measure it

Take a measurement

Then bag it up and give me the evidence

Pretty evident

Dependable

Can never be tentative

I'm a gentleman

Depending on if I think your genuine

Pretty elegant

But not afraid to tell you to get a grip

Proper etiquette

I keep it to myself when I celebrate

It's that time again

Better grab your balloons and invite your friends

Seatbelts back on yeah strap 'em in

Look at me everybody I'm smilin' big

On a road right now that I can't predict

Tell me tone that down, but I can't resist

Y'all know that sound better raise your fist

The search begins

(I'm back so enjoy the trip I’m pretty sure he took some sort of break from music and this song marked the first song in the NF album the search)

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Tommee Profitt / Nate Feuerstein

The Search lyrics © Capitol Cmg Paragon, Capitol Cmg Genesis, Tommee Profitt Songs, Nf Real Publishing





Life of NF (not career his real life)

  • Parents divorced and Mom got custody

  • Was abused by Mom’s boyfriend so Dad got custody

  • Mom died from overdose which inspired him to write the song “How could you leave us” in her memory.

  • In 2015 NF dropped his first studio album “mansion”.

  • And he released his most current album “The Search” in 2019.


Here is an article on the nature of the song the Search.




Sources 





https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NF_(rapper)






34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page