top of page
Search
  • adelinetaylor7

Artist Project: I Hope You're Happy

Updated: Oct 9, 2020

I first heard I Hope You're Happy by Blue October sometime in early seventh grade on the radio while going nowhere important, probably the barn or school or the grocery store. I thought it was catchy and I immediately liked it. I guess I never gave much thought to the lyrics or their meanings because I had no reason to. I was only a few months into age twelve and it was just a

fun song I liked. Why would I have an emotional connection to an upbeat nostalgic song?

But as I got older, I went more places, met more people and, especially during quarantine, had more reasons to be nostalgic. I had people I missed that I couldn't see, people I could have maybe seen had it not been for the pandemic. Suddenly I really listened to the lyrics, and I understood them. All I could do was hope they were happy.

Artist Background

Blue October was formed in Houston in 1995 by Justin Furstenfeld who wrote songs with his brother Jeremy Furstenfeld and violinist Ryan Delahoussaye. Bassist Liz Mullaly completed the group for their independent debut album The Answers in 1998. Their second album was their major level debut in 2000 with Matt Noveskey instead of Liz Mullaly. "Calling You" from their third album became a top 40 hit after it was included on American Wedding Soundtrack. Their most recent song is "Oh My My" which is very good.

Song Intro

I hope you're Happy was written and produced by Blue October member Justin Furstenfeld. It was released on January 18th 2018.

Lyrics

There will be days when you're falling down


There will be days when you're inside out

There will be days when you fall apart

Someone else will break your heart

They're never gonna hold you back

I'm always gonna have your back

So try to remember that


I hope you're happy

I hope you're good

I hope you get what you wish for

And you're well-understood


And now I'm standing here, looking at you

I wonder what the hell you're gonna do

With those Dr. Pepper eyes and your bubble gum hair

Yeah, I'm standing right here

I remember how I held you so right

I remember that Saturday night

Do you?


There will be days when you're falling down

There will be days when you're inside out

There will be days when you fall apart

Someone else will break your heart

They're never gonna hold you back

I'm always gonna have your back

So try to remember that


I hope you're happy

I hope you're good

I hope you get what you wish for

And you're well-understood

And whatever your progress

I know you'll be fine

Because I hope you're happy

Even if you're not mine


I remember when the world was ours to take

I remember you next to me

I remember you with every breath I take

You'll always have a piece of me

I remember, yeah

Try to remember that


I remember every word that we spoke

You right here next to me

I remember how we tried and we tried

I remember everything

Try to remember that

That I hope you're happy

That I hope you're happy


I hope you're happy

I hope you're good

I hope you get what you wish for

And you're well-understood


And whatever your progress

I know you'll be fine

Because I hope you're happy

Even if you're not mine

Try to remember that

I hope you're happy


This song has an upbeat rhythm but throughout the song there is an underlying tone of sadness. Most of the verses start with some depressing lines and end with supportive ones The chorus is supportive and upbeat. Then the lyrics turn to some extremely relatable remembering "I remember you with every breath I take, you'll always have a piece of me." These lyrics and tune make up a happy yet nostalgic song that makes you feel.



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NF

Music Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnlJw9H0xAM (Hey Nate, how's life? He is imitating a conversation.) I don't know it's alright...

Comentários


Os comentários foram desativados.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page