top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLukas Updegraff

Artist project: In My Life By The Beatles

For a little backstory, at my old school for our seventh grade musical we did Midsummer Night's Dream, except the costumes were steampunk, the words were modernized, it took place in London and all the songs were Beatles songs. Now I had heard Beatles music around our house when I was younger so I was no stranger to their music, but the bittersweet sound of In My Life was a dramatic difference from the Day Trippers and Ticket to Rides that I was used to. This was the final song in the show that the whole cast would sing after the wedding, and because of its innate sad yet slightly happy sound it stuck with me until now where it was the first song I thought of for this project. In all honesty hearing this song its hard for me to even finish it without crying and you can see this a shared sentiment from the thousands of comments you will find of the song on various streaming platforms.


The Beatles were world famous rock band from the 1960s, comprised of John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison and Ringo Starr. John Lennon was born on October 9th 1940, Ringo on July 7th (my birthday) of the same year. Paul McCartney was born June 18th of 1942, and George Harrison was the youngest, born on February 25th 1943. On July 6, 1957, John Lennon met Paul McCartney at a church garden party in Liverpool. The two quickly became friends and went on to meet George Harrison and Ringo Starr in 1960 where they founded the band the Beatles. John Lennon was a vocalist and guitar player, Paul McCartney was also a vocalist and played guitar and keyboard. Ringo Starr was the drummer and George Harrison played bass and guitar. They traveled the world performing and released albums famous to this day like Seargent Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band and Abbey Road. The Bend broke up in the 1970s, with each member going their own separate ways, John Lennon went on to have a very successful solo career until December 8th 1980 where he was shot outside his own apartment building. George Harrison died on November 29 2001 from cancer. Ringo Starr went on to start Ringo Starr and his All-Starr Band, and Paul McCartney started the ban Paul McCartney and Wings.








The song I chose is "In My Life" which is part of the Rubber Soul album released on December third in 1965. John Lennon credits it as the first song he wrote in which the lyrics reflected his own life, thus he was the one to perform it and Paul McCartney was the one who wrote almost all the music.

There are places I'll remember All my life, though some have changed Some forever, not for better Some have gone, and some remain

All these places had their moments With lovers and friends, I still can recall Some are dead, and some are living In my life, I've loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers There is no one compares with you And these memories lose their meaning When I think of love as something new


Though I know I'll never lose affection For people and things that went before I know I'll often stop and think about them In my life, I'll love you more

Though I know I'll never lose affection For people and things that went before I know I'll often stop and think about them

In my life I'll love you more In my life I'll love you more




Since John Lennon died in 1980, and he had been the sole lyrical writer for this song, much of its meaning has been left to theories. All we know from John Lennon was this was his first song with the Beatles that was about his own life, and "a remembrance of friends and lovers of the past"."


In the beginning of the song he sing about the past and those he cared about and his love for them. However, after the first two paragraphs he speaks of someone in the present, of how, yes, he still cares for those previously mentioned, but there's a new light of his life. However, as the song was released in December of 1965, and John Lennon not having a significant lover in his life, leads us to believe that he is singing of an imaginary lover, who 11 months later became reality with John Lennon meeting Yoko Ono. Once really analyzing this song, it becomes a song of healing and growth rather than a sad and regretful song.


John Lennon expresses that while we must hold in our heart those from the past, we must continue to move forward and find others whom to love. Because John Lennon was a preacher of peace and love, he was not religious but believed in the good of humankind and that we should and can all get along. This early Beatles song echoes that message telling people to continue to spread love to those who need it because that person who needs healing could also be you.





The Beatles were pioneers in rock and roll and were known around the world for their incredible music. John Lennon was one of the two vocalists of the Beatles, and commonly seen as the face of the band. In 1965 he wrote the lyrics to the song in my life. While John Lennon died early in his life and the true meaning of the song was never stated by him, the meaning is left up to theories. And what i believe is that in my life is not the sad, mourning song that most people see it as, but as a song of growth, love, healing and strength, where John Lennon speaks of holding those from the past in his heart, but finding someone whom he loves and moving forward.










Evers, Joost. John Lennon and Wife Yoko Ono Depart from Schiphol to Vienna. Schipholv Airport, 31 Mar. 1969.



Lustig, Jay. “The Beatles’ Most Misunderstood Song: ‘In My Life.’” NJArts.net, 21 Feb. 2019, www.njarts.net/pop-rock/the-beatles-most-misunderstood-song-in-my-life/.



Macmillan, Iain. Abbey Road. London, 26 Sept. 1969.



Scherman, Rowland. John Lennon at a Rally in Hyde Park. Hyde Park, Chicago, 1975.



Ulaby, Neda. “60 Years Ago, 2 Boys Met And The Beatles Began.” NPR, NPR, 6 July 2017, www.npr.org/2017/07/06/535612114/60-years-ago-2-boys-met-and-the-beatles-began.



Ulaby, Neda. “60 Years Ago, 2 Boys Met And The Beatles Began.” NPR, NPR, 6 July 2017, www.npr.org/2017/07/06/535612114/60-years-ago-2-boys-met-and-the-beatles-began.














29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NF

Music Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnlJw9H0xAM (Hey Nate, how's life? He is imitating a conversation.) I don't know it's alright...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page