top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemarcellodipiazza

David Bowie

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

Introduction

Throughout my whole life, that which has been short, I have never really been into listening to music. I would always just listen to what everyone else was listening to and hop on the

bandwagon. I always enjoyed playing music and still I almost never listen to music during any thing. A lot of people think this is quite strange and for me its just my normal. So I am using this project to listen to all the music that I haven't listened to. I decided to choose David Bowie because he has contributed a lot to music, culture and the industry, but also to actually listen to his music and appreciate it for what it is. I already know that some people consider his music style strange but I am giving it a shot and I am going with the song Space Oddity.


Artist Background


David Bowie, born David Robert Jones, was born in Brixton England on January 8, 1947. At a young age he started playing the saxophone after being inspired by jazz music. He was introduced to American music when his father brought home some American records including Elvis Presley and Little Richard. David Bowie

is easily recognizable by his distinctive clothes and his eyes one blue and one brown. David Bowie was well ahead of his time in the music industry. His first albums drew little to no success, but when he released his song Space Oddity it gained much popularity and got to #5 on the U.K. singles chart. Many say this song drew much attention because the first Apollo launch occurred a few days after his song was released.



Space Oddity


Song Introduction

The song Space Oddity was originally released in 1969 on his self-titled album and became his first song to become a hit in the UK as mentioned before it made it to #5 on the UK music charts but only made it to #124 on the US music charts in August 1969.


This album was re-titled Space Oddity and was released in the US in 1972. The single made it to #15 on the US charts which became Bowie's first US Top 40 hit. In 1975 Space Oddity was released again in the UK and leapt to the top of the charts becoming Bowie's first #1 hit there.


On the surface this song tells the story of space travel but there is a deeper meaninig.


Lyrics


Ground Control to Major Tom Ground Control to Major Tom Take your protein pills and put your helmet on Ground Control to Major Tom (ten, nine, eight, seven, six) Commencing countdown, engines on (five, four, three) Check ignition and may God's love be with you (two, one, liftoff)

This is Ground Control to Major Tom You've really made the grade And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear Now it's time to leave the capsule if you dare "This is Major Tom to Ground Control I'm stepping through the door And I'm floating in a most peculiar way And the stars look very different today For here Am I sitting in a tin can Far above the world Planet Earth is blue And there's nothing I can do

Though I'm past one hundred thousand miles I'm feeling very still And I think my spaceship knows which way to go Tell my wife I love her very much she knows Ground Control to Major Tom Your circuit's dead, there's something wrong Can you hear me, Major Tom? Can you hear me, Major Tom? Can you hear me, Major Tom? Can you "Here am I floating 'round my tin can Far above the moon Planet Earth is blue And there's nothing I can do"


Song Analysis


During in interview in 2003 Bowie stated that the song was inspired by the 1968 sci-fi film "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Bowie found the film to be "amazing" and "I was out of my gourd anyway, I was very stoned when I went to see it, several times, and it was really a revelation to me. It got the song flowing."


The introduction to the song is acoustic guitar and bass playing and then Bowie starts singing in a very robotic voice. You hear counting in the background and finally there is an electric guitar riff. The drums kick in when he sings " This is Ground Control to Major Tom." It becomes softer once he sings "Here sitting on a tin can" but then the tempo picks back up with both an acoustic guitar, electric guitar and bass. The use of all these instruments creates a complex but pleasing sound.


The Character "Major Tom" can be seen as David Bowie himself and throughout the song the events correlate to times he's been on drugs or times he feels that life is slipping away from him.


Is this song talking about drug use or just space travel? There are various lines in the song that could imply drug use "Take your protein pills" and " And I'm floating in a most peculiar way." I believe his song is about drug use because in a follow up song "Ashes to Ashes" Major Tom is referenced as being a junkie.



Whichever way you view the lyrics it is undeniable that this song and Bowie's style were very original and distinct something that he would continue throughout his music career.



Conclusion


This song has been a very interesting piece of music since its release and has had quite a few

different interpretations on what it means. What ever conclusion you come to on the meaning of this song it will still sound great with the acoustic guitar and David Bowies voice. I personally think this song is really cool and this has opened me up to a new Genre of music. "Space Oddity" will always be a great song thanks for reading!






Sources


“About.” David Bowie, 2020, www.davidbowie.com/about.


Barker, Emily. “David Bowie's 40 Greatest Songs - as Decided by NME and Friends: NME.” NME Music News, Reviews, Videos, Galleries, Tickets and Blogs | NME.COM, 18 Mar. 2020, www.nme.com/photos/david-bowie-s-40-greatest-songs-as-decided-by-nme-and-friends-1418012.


Dickerson, Kelly. “Here's What David Bowie's Song 'Space Oddity' Is Really About.” Business Insider, Business Insider, 11 Jan. 2016, www.businessinsider.com/david-bowie-song-space-oddity-meaning-2016-1.


Pareles, Jon. “David Bowie Dies at 69; Star Transcended Music, Art and Fashion.” The New York Times, The New York Times, 11 Jan. 2016, www.nytimes.com/2016/01/12/arts/music/david-bowie-dies-at-69.html.


Smith, Bryan. “David Bowie: The Childhood Years and Early Music Career.” David Bowie: Childhood Years and Early Music Career, bryansmithmusic.com/davidBowieChild.html.




38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NF

Music Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnlJw9H0xAM (Hey Nate, how's life? He is imitating a conversation.) I don't know it's alright...

Opmerkingen


Opmerkingen zijn uitgezet.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page