top of page
Search
  • brookelynmolina

Michael Jackson, Man in the Mirror

Updated: Oct 6, 2020

Intro: Michael Jackson was my first introduction to real music as a kid. He is my

dad's favorite artist so he wanted me to start listening to him early on. He first introduced me to his more popular songs like Billie Jean, Beat it, Bad, and Smooth Criminal. I began to listen to Michael on my own time and became very interested and intrigued by his music. I even came up with dances about him when I was little and pretended to preform on stage with him. I loved his creativity in the songs and the way he added something different that other artist didn't add. Michael Jackson created music history and will forever be remembered. I chose to do this song because I have always wanted to make a change when I'm older. To make a difference. And this song is really about making change in the world.


Artist background: Michael Jackson was a musician from the beginning. His family all contributed in a music group called the Jackson 5. Michael was the lead singer. Although it was fun to play with his family, unfortunately, Michael grew up with a very abusive father. He would whip him, tell him he was ugly, emotionally abused him during music rehearsals. This really

affected the way Michael grew up in life and affected his life decisions. As he became older, the Jackson 5 ended but Michael wanted to continue his music career. He wrote many popular songs such as Billie Jean, Bad, Smooth Criminal, Earth Song, and many other's. He recorded with Freddie Mercury. He won a 8 Grammy awards for his song Thriller. Things were looking great for Michael. He could have made even more history in his career but sadly, he past away at age 50 from a combination of drugs he was given by his doctor.


Song introduction: The Man in the Mirror lyrics and music was created by Glen Ballard and Siedah Garret. The song was produced by Michael and Quincy Jones. It was released on February 6, 1988. Man in the Mirror was nominated for Record of the year at the 31'st Grammy's. This song also topped the billboard hot 100 for two weeks. The music video was, directed, produced, and edited by Don Wilson. The video includes visuals of Martin Luther King JR, Kids in Africa, Mother Teresa, Mahatma Gandhi, Jesus Christ, and other historical figures. I think these figures have a lot to do with the true meaning behind the song.

Lyrics:

I'm gonna make a change, For once I'm my life It's gonna feel real good,

Gonna make a difference,

Gonna make it right


As I, turn up the collar on

My favorite winter coat

This wind is blowing my mind

I see the kids in the streets,

With not enough to eat

Who am I to be blind?

Pretending not to see their needs


A summer disregard, a broken bottle top And a one man soul They follow each other on the wind ya' know 'Cause they got nowhere to go That's why I want you to know


I'm starting with the man in the mirror I'm asking him to change his ways And no message could have been any clearer If you want to make the world a better place (If you want to make the world a better place) Take a look at yourself, and then make a change (Take a look at yourself, and then make a change) (Na na na, na na na, na na, na nah)


I've been a victim of a selfish kind of love It's time that I realize That there are some with no home, not a nickel to loan Could it be really me, pretending that they're not alone?



A willow deeply scarred, somebody's broken heart And a washed-out dream (Washed-out dream) They follow the pattern of the wind ya' see 'Cause they got no place to be That's why I'm starting with me (Starting with me!)


I'm starting with the man in the mirror

(Ooh!) I'm asking him to change his ways (Ooh!) And no message could have been any clearer If you want to make the world a better place (If you want to make the world a better place) Take a look at yourself, and then make a change (Take a look at yourself, and then make a change)


I'm starting with the man in the mirror (Ooh!) I'm asking him to change his ways (Change his ways, ooh!) And no message could have been any clearer If you want to make the world a better place Take a look at yourself and then make that (Take a look at yourself and then make that) Change!


I'm starting with the man in the mirror (Man in the mirror, oh yeah!) I'm asking him to change his ways (Better change!) No message could have been any clearer (If you want to make the world a better place)


You can't close your, your mind! (Then you close your, mind!) That man, that man, that man, that man With the man in the mirror (Man in the mirror, oh yeah!) That man, that man, that man,

I'm asking him to change his ways (Better change!) You know, that man No message could have been any clearer If you want to make the world a better place (If you want to make the world a better place) Take a look at yourself and then make the change (Take a look at yourself and then make the change) Hoo! Hoo! Hoo! Hoo! Hoo! Na na na, na na na, na na, na nah (Ooh) Oh no, no no


I'm gonna make a change It's gonna feel real good! Come on! (Change) Just lift yourself You know You've got to stop it, Yourself! (Yeah! Make that change!) I've got to make that change, today! Hoo! (Man in the mirror) You got to You got to not let yourself Brother Hoo! (Yeah! Make that change!) You know I've got to get That man, that man


You've got to You've got to move! Come on! Come on! You got to


Stand up! Stand up! Stand up! (Yeah! Make that change)

Stand up and lift yourself, now! (Man in the mirror) Hoo! Hoo! Hoo! Aw! (Yeah! Make that change!) Gonna make that change

Come on! You know it! You know it! You know it! You know it (Change) Make that change.


Song Analysis: This song was much more than a story about a man looking at himself in a mirror. It was about making a difference in the world beginning with yourself. His music video shows a montage of historical figures such as Martin Luther Kind JR, Jesus Christ, Mother Teresa, and more. These people are ones who put others in front of themselves and made a change in the world. These are selfless individuals who only cared about making a change for the people. This song is about making a change in yourself before changing the world around you and one thing everyone can always improve on is being selfless. I think that Michael wanted to step out of his childhood and past self and become a new person and rise above his early trauma. Then make a difference in music history. Which is exactly what he did. He made a change in himself to make a change in the world.



Conclusion: I really enjoyed learning about Michael Jacksons life and seeing his music career unfold. It was interesting although sad to learn about his childhood trauma but it made him who he was today. I loved learning the true meaning behind this song because it gave me a different perspective on things. I have always wanted to make an impact, a difference, a change in the world one day. This song really inspires me because it's basically is saying to first look at yourself and see what you can improve on before making a change in the world. It's a very humbling message also saying that there is always something you can change and improve on in yourself and I am going to take this message with me in life.


Sources:


Websites=

“Michael Jackson.” Wikipedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 5 Oct. 2020, en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_Jackson .


Eames, Tom. “The Story of... 'Man in the Mirror' by Michael Jackson.” Smooth, 16 Jan. 2018, www.smoothradio.com/features/michael-jackson-man-in-the-mirror-meaning-lyrics/ .


.tdi_16_755{margin-bottom:0px!important}.tdi_16_755{display:inline-block}.tdi_16_755 .tdb-author-name-wrap{align-items:baseline}.tdi_16_755 .avatar{width:20px;height:20px;margin-right:6px;border-radius:50%}.tdi_16_755 .tdb-author-name{color:#000} Paul Zol, et al. “Behind the Song: Michael Jackson's ‘Man In The Mirror," Written by Siedah Garrett & Glen Ballard " American Songwriter.” American Songwriter, 10 Mar. 2020, americansongwriter.com/behind-the-song-man-in-the-mirror/ .


Images=

“Pin De Jennifer Siefert En My Idol My Hero Michael Jackson <3: Michael Jackson, Jackson, Michael.” Pinterest, www.pinterest.com/pin/19914423332884139/?nic_v2=1a1R5QjSb .


“Changing Direction: 3 Signs That Show It Is Time To Pivot.” The Pitcher, 30 Aug. 2016, thepitcher.org/changing-direction-3-signs-that-show-it-is-time-to-pivot/ .


Mirror.co.uk. “Michael Jackson Tribute: Michael Jackson Even Had Rhythm as a Baby, Says His Mum Katherine.” Mirror, 28 Jan. 2012, www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/michael-jackson-tribute-michael-jackson-403236 .


/* custom css */.tdi_83_c71 .tdb-author-name-wrap{ align-items: baseline; }.tdi_83_c71 .avatar{ width: 20px; height: 20px; margin-right: 6px; , et al. “The Incredible Way Michael Jackson Wrote Music: NME.” NME Music News, Reviews, Videos, Galleries, Tickets and Blogs | NME.COM, 29 Aug. 2018, www.nme.com/blogs/nme-blogs/the-incredible-way-michael-jackson-wrote-music-16799 .


Google Search, Google, www.google.com/search?q=michael+jackson .


“11 Anos Da Morte De Uma Lenda Em 2020: Michael Jackson Fotos, Michael Jackson Bad, Mike Jackson.” Pinterest, www.pinterest.com/pin/22447698131133561/?nic_v2=1a1R5QjSb .


Song=

“Michael Jackson: Streaming.” Smart Links for Music Marketing, Artist Marketing, and Tours Promotion, MichaelJackson.lnk.to/_listenYD .











53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

NF

Music Video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fnlJw9H0xAM (Hey Nate, how's life? He is imitating a conversation.) I don't know it's alright...

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page